comscore
Bollywood Hungama
Bollywood Entertainment at its best
Last Updated 18.05.2024 | 9:42 PM IST
  • LANGUAGE

  • FOLLOW US ON

  • FEEDBACK

The Flash (English)
The Flash (English)
Release date:
1616258 Bollywood Hungama News Network

The Flash (English) Movie Review: THE FLASH works due to its fascinating plot, exciting first half, surprise cameos and some strong emotional moments.


3.0
The Flash (English) Movie Rating

THE FLASH has a fascinating plot, an exciting first half, surprise cameos and strong emotional moments.

Rating : 3.0
June 14, 2023 The Flash (English) https://www.bollywoodhungama.com/movie/the-flash-english/critic-review/ THE FLASH works due to its fascinating plot, exciting first half, surprise cameos and some strong emotional moments
480 300
Ezra Miller https://www.bollywoodhungama.com/celebrity/ezra-miller/
Sasha Calle https://www.bollywoodhungama.com/celebrity/sasha-calle/
Michael Shannon https://www.bollywoodhungama.com/celebrity/michael-shannon/
Ron Livingston https://www.bollywoodhungama.com/celebrity/ron-livingston/
Maribel Verdú https://www.bollywoodhungama.com/celebrity/maribel-verdu/
Kiersey Clemons https://www.bollywoodhungama.com/celebrity/kiersey-clemons/
Ben Affleck https://www.bollywoodhungama.com/celebrity/ben-affleck/
Michael Keaton https://www.bollywoodhungama.com/celebrity/michael-keaton/
Gal Gadot https://www.bollywoodhungama.com/celebrity/gal-gadot/
THE FLASH works due to its fascinating plot, exciting first half, surprise cameos and some strong emotional moments en
Bollywood Hungama https://www.bollywoodhungama.com/
210 58
0.5 5 3.0

The Flash (English) Review {3.0/5} & Review Rating

THE FLASH is the story of a superhero misusing his superpower. Barry Allen (Ezra Miller) is learning to adjust to his life as a superhero as Flash and a rookie forensic investigator. His father Henry (Ron Livingston) has been wrongfully jailed for the murder of his mother Nora (Maribel Verdú). One day he realizes that he has one more power, of going back in time. He realizes that he can use this power to prevent the death of his murder. That way, his father won't have to go to jail. He discusses this idea with Bruce Wayne aka Batman (Ben Affleck) who warns him that this can be catastrophic. But Barry still goes back in time and alters the events. He then goes forward in time and finds out that his mother is alive. His father, too, is living with them and all is well. Soon, he realizes that things are not as rosy as they seem to be. On top of that, the evil Zod (Michael Shannon) arrives to kill Superman. What happens next forms the rest of the film.

Movie Review: The Flash (English)

John Francis Daley, Jonathan Goldstein and Joby Harold's story is fascinating and very intriguing. Christina Hodson's screenplay is very effective and does justice to the unique plot in hand. The time travel and parallel timelines plot points do remind one of Marvel films (at one point, there's also an indirect reference). Yet, one doesn't get a déjà vu as the happenings are very different in this film. The dialogues are witty and funny.

Andy Muschietti’s direction is splendid. The director has made good use of the script and peppered the film with entertaining scenes. The way he has shown Flash travelling at a supersonic speed is quite creative and visually appealing. The film also scores as it has strong emotional moments.

At the same time, the film also gets quite heavy emotionally in the second half. The film has been marketed as a fun-filled entertainer. But the humour is very limited post-interval. Those expecting it to be a light film will be disappointed. The track of Zod is also not properly utilized.

THE FLASH starts on a superb note. The hospital scene is epic and arguably one of the best scenes seen in a superhero film. The scene where Barry goes back in time and the developments that take place are truly amusing. The fun continues as Barry reaches Batman's mansion where he gets surprised, or rather shocked, yet again. Post interval, the action scene in Russia is interesting though one has seen better scenes of this kind in previous superhero films. The scene in the supermarket in the pre-climax is very moving. The film ends on a rocking note.

Speaking of performances, Ezra Miller nails the part. He plays two personalities which are diverse yet a bit similar and the way he has handled it is praiseworthy. Ben Affleck is dependable in a brief role. Michael Keaton leaves a huge mark. Sasha Calle (Supergirl) is decent and doesn't get much scope. Maribel Verdú is lovely and contributes a lot to the film. Ron Livingston is okay. Kiersey Clemons (Iris West) is fair. Gal Gadot (Wonder Woman) steals the show, as expected, in a cameo. Nicholas Cage and others are quite nice in special appearances.

Benjamin Wallfisch's music is cinematic and typically superhero-like. Henry Braham's cinematography adds to the big screen appeal. Action is without gore and works for a film like this. Paul D Austerberry's production design is rich. Alexandra Byrne and Bob Ringwood's costumes are realistic. VFX matches global standards. Jason Ballantine and Paul Machliss' editing is appropriate.

On the whole, THE FLASH works due to its fascinating plot, exciting first half, surprise cameos and some strong emotional moments. At the box office, however, it’ll face a tough time as it clashes with ADIPURUSH.

The Flash (English) Movie News


Copyright © 2024 Hungama Digital Media Entertainment Pvt. Ltd. All Rights Reserved.
Forgot Password
Please provide your registered email address or username
  • OR
Write A Review
  • Click to rate on scale of 1-5
  • 5000 characters remaining

New notification