Bollywood Hungama

Bollywood Entertainment at its best

Last Updated 28.02.2020 | 6:18 PM IST



Rajinikanth, Ajay Devgn, Anupam Kher, Udit Narayan, Priyanka Chopra to be conferred with the Padma awards

Come January 26 aka India's Republic Day this year, and the prestigious Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri awards will be handed (read 'conferred') upon the much deserving winners.

The list of winners this year include the likes of Rajinikanth, Anupam Kher, Udit Narayan, Ajay Devgn, S.S. Rajamouli, Madhur Bhandarkar, (late) Saeed Jaffrey and Priyanka Chopra. While Rajinikanth will be conferred with 'Padma Vibhushan', Anupam Kher and Udit Narayan will be conferred with the 'Padma Bhushan', Priyanka Chopra, Ajay Devgn, S.S. Rajamouli, Madhur Bhandarkar, (late) Saeed Jaffrey will be bestowed with 'Padma Shri'.

Tweeting about the honour, an elated Anupam Kher stated, "Happy, Humbled & Honoured to share that i have been awarded The PADMA BHUSHAN by the Govt. of India. Greatest news of my life:) #JaiHind". On the other hand, Ajay Devgn said, "I feel deeply humbled yet elated to receive such honor from my own country. This announcement today makes it special for me when I'm filming abroad for my new film Shivaay. I'd like to acknowledge that 'Padma Samman' puts an extra responsibility on me and I promise to serve my country for as long as I can."

Rate this article
Make favorite

Recommended for you

Copyright © 2020 Hungama Digital Media Entertainment Pvt. Ltd. All Rights Reserved.

Forgot Password

Please provide your registered email address or username
  • OR

Write A Review

  • Click to rate on scale of 1-5
  • 5000 characters remaining

New notification