comscore

Bollywood Hungama

Bollywood Entertainment at its best

Last Updated 04.10.2022 | 6:25 PM IST
  • LANGUAGE

  • FOLLOW US ON

  • FEEDBACK

Gafla Review

Release date:

257643 Taran Adarsh

Gafla Movie Review


1.5
Gafla Movie Rating

Gafla Movie Review: Gafla Movie

Gafla Review 1.5/5 & rating. Watch Gafla official trailer video, listen songs, Movie News updates, Movie Review and checkout public movie reviews soon.

Rating : 1.5
October 7, 2006 Gafla http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gafla Newer stories are being unfurled on the Hindi screen. In the recent past, Madhur Bhandarkar chose to narrate the war between two soft drink giants in CORPORATE. In GAFLA, debutante director Sameer Hanchate tells the story of one of the biggest scamsters of the stock market and even makes him a hero in the climaxRead More
208 300
Anshul Chobey https://www.bollywoodhungama.com/celebrity/anshul-chobey/
Nishikant Dixit https://www.bollywoodhungama.com/celebrity/nishikant-dixit/
Vikram Gokhale https://www.bollywoodhungama.com/celebrity/vikram-gokhale/
Brijendra Kala https://www.bollywoodhungama.com/celebrity/brijendra-kala/
Purva Parag https://www.bollywoodhungama.com/celebrity/purva-parag/
Vinod Sharawat https://www.bollywoodhungama.com/celebrity/vinod-sharawat/
Shakti Singh https://www.bollywoodhungama.com/celebrity/shakti-singh/
Shruti Ulfat https://www.bollywoodhungama.com/celebrity/shruti-ulfat/
Newer stories are being unfurled on the Hindi screen. In the recent past, Madhur Bhandarkar chose to narrate the war between two soft drink giants in CORPORATE. In GAFLA, debutante director Sameer Hanchate tells the story of one of the biggest scamsters of the stock market and even makes him a hero in the climaxRead More en
Bollywood Hungama https://www.bollywoodhungama.com/
210 58
0.5 5 1.5

Gafla Review {1.5/5} & Review Rating

Newer stories are being unfurled on the Hindi screen.

In the recent past, Madhur Bhandarkar chose to narrate the war between two soft drink giants in CORPORATE. In GAFLA, debutante director Sameer Hanchate tells the story of one of the biggest scamsters of the stock market and even makes him a hero in the climax of the film.

The problem with GAFLA is that it comes across more as a biography of a scamster than a film that makes a statement against the big sharks of the stock market. Moreover, since the plotline unravels at a lethargic pace, the impact of a couple of well executed sequences also evaporates into thin air.

GAFLA is a story about ordinary people or rather an ordinary young man, Subodh [Vinod Sharawat], in ordinary circumstances. Subodh starts out like any middle class guy, with limited opportunities to survive and go ahead. Perhaps, he has a little bit more drive than the others, more energy and bigger dreams.

Subodh's intentions are good and understandable in terms of ordinary ambitions. Subodh wants to make money, to be successful and enters the stock market. His brilliance makes him successful, but he is at the mercy of big players.

Faced with a choice of either following a secondary career, dominated by big players or becoming a big player himself, he opts for the latter. But, as an outsider, he shouldn't have become the biggest player of all. He didn't know where to stop. He didn't pause to strengthen the base of political and institutional support before rising further. He is inexperienced.

So, when things go wrong, Subodh is crucified for doing the same fraud that everybody was doing.

Director Sameer Hanchate chooses a novel subject for his debut vehicle. But a subject like this has its limitations since it caters to a niche audience, a thin section of moviegoers who'd be interested in watching stock market scams on the big screen.

Hanchate's direction is alright, although his choice of the subject, as pointed above, will find limited takers. GAFLA has been filmed on actual locations and that adds to its authenticity [cinematography: Anshul Chobey].

Vinod Sharawat does a fair job. Shruti Ulfat is commendable. The remaining actors, Brijendra Kala, Purva Parag, Vikram Gokhale, Aditya Lakhia and Shaktee Singh, enact their parts with competence.

On the whole, GAFLA is a dry film that has come virtually unannounced, with as good as zilch pre-release promotion. At the box-office, an also-ran!

Gafla Movie News


Gafla in trouble

Gafla in trouble

User Reviews

manishjain

Conning Machinery of the Stock market revealed. For all those who don't know much about what goes…

Read more
Copyright © 2022 Hungama Digital Media Entertainment Pvt. Ltd. All Rights Reserved.

Forgot Password

Please provide your registered email address or username
  • OR

Write A Review

  • Click to rate on scale of 1-5
  • 5000 characters remaining

New notification